ECFA Committee

The ECFA Committee is one of three advisory groups to the AoC Sport Board. Its purpose is to advise the Board on:

a) The strategy for growing and developing football competition and participation in colleges

b) A cross college strategy for growing football and raising standards

c) Building national partnerships, sponsors and community links; working towards AoC Sport vision of providing sport or physical activity for every young person

d) The football budget set by the National Football Development Manager and make recommendations for obtaining additional sources of income and priority areas of expenditure

e) The organisation of Category 1 leagues and make decisions on applications

f) Football issues raised by other AoC Sport advisory groups and/or members

The membership of the committee includes:

  • Up to seven senior college members (including Chairperson and Vice Chairperson)
  • AoC Sport Managing Director (Ex Officio position)
  • Up to two independent representatives (including The Football Association)
  • Up to two young people (e.g. students, apprentices) as youth representatives (co-opted members)


ECFA Committee Meeting Dates 2017-18              

Meeting 1: Wednesday 10 October 2018 at SGS College

Meeting 2: Wednesday 16 January 2019 at Joseph Chamberlain College

Meeting 3: Wednesday 27 March 2019 at venue TBC

Meeting 4: Monday 17 June 2017 at St George’s Park (TBC)


The ECFA Committee Members

Andrew Comyn – Vice Principal, Dudley College

Kevin Hamblin  (Chair) – Principal, South Gloucestershire & Stroud College

Jason Gunningham – Vice Principal, Bridgwater and Taunton College

Julie Mills (Vice Chair) – Principal, Milton Keynes College

Micky Riddell – Curriculum Leader, Joseph Chamberlain College

Marcus Kingwell – Managing Director, AoC Sport

Paul Buckland – Head of International and Business Development, Isle of Wight

New members

Mark Hughes – Hartlepool Sixth Form College

Jo Maher – Boston College

Ollie Selfe – The Football Association

Vacant positions:

Community Football Representative

Youth Representative

Executive reports:

Lauren O’Sullivan – National Football Development Manager, AoC Sport

Andy Perlejewski – Competitions Manager, AoC Sport