AoC Sport Awards

The AoC Sport awards are the chance for member colleges from across the country to showcase and celebrate the achievements and inspirational work of students and staff in college sport.

The annual awards represent the very best approaches that colleges are adopting to ensure that every student is regularly participating in sport or physical activity.

About the awards

The award categories are as follows:

  • Student Performer of the Year – celebrates the domestic and/or international success of a current student
  • Team of the Year, sponsored by Matrix Fitness – celebrates the domestic or international, success of a student team competing in AoC Sport competitions
  • Inspirational Student/Volunteer of the Year – recognises the commitment of an individual student to college sport and physical activity as a volunteer and/or leader
  • Achievement in Disability Sport – awarded to a disabled sportsperson or team that has achieved improvement in their development
  • Hall of Fame – awarded to staff who have made a continuous commitment and significant contribution to college sport and physical activity. There will be two awards available in this category.

The awards will be presented as part of the AoC Sport National Championships opening ceremony on Friday 26 April.

All award winners will be invited to the VIP reception on the Friday night of the National Championships. It is during the ceremony that the awards will be presented and winners can celebrate and enjoy the event alongside colleagues and participating athletes.

How to nominate

In order to nominate please follow this link. It is a quick and simple process, which allows both staff and students to make nominations.

Please remember to refer to the criteria (attach criteria) for each category when making nominations.

The deadline for all nominations is 5pm on Monday 18 March. Any nominations made after this date will not be considered.


2018 Winners

Inspirational Student/Volunteer of the Year

Nominees: Liam Waugh (Gateshead College), Sophie Hibbert (North Lindsey College), Joshua Benocci (Hartpury College)

Winner: Duncan Covey ( Truro & Penwith College)

Achievement in Disability Sport

Nominees: Robert Cliffe (Bradford College), Micheal Grover (Newham 6th Form College), Francis Kanu (Newham College)

Winner: Oliver Griffith-Salter (Coleg Sir Gar)

Student Performer of the Year

Nominees: Joshua Bennett (Bexhill College), Emily Syme (Richard Huish College), Harriet Lambe (Bridgwater & Taunton College)

Winner: Emily Rossiter (Bridgwater & Taunton College)

Team of the Year – Tennis (Peter Symonds)

Team of the Year

Nominees: Netball (Holy Cross College), Birmingham Met women’s basketball (Birmingham Met College), Women’s volleyball (Newcastle-under-Lyme College)

Winner: Tennis (Peter Symonds College)

Hall of Fame

Winners: Mark Howard (Walsall College) and Julie Penrase (Callywith College and Truro & Penwith College)

AoC Sport Hall of Fame – previous winners

Related stories:

Students and staff recognised at AoC Sport Awards