College students head to Rio in search of Olympic gold

There’s just one week to go until the opening ceremony gets underway for the Olympic Games in Rio, and there will be plenty of current and former college students and staff members flying the flag for Great Britain, among other nations.

Rio 569_0

Great Britain’s Rugby 7s squads, in both the men’s and women’s events, are packed with college names, while the athletics squad has no fewer than 15 athletes who have attended AoC Sport member colleges.

Loughborough College’s Lianna Swan will be one of just two athletes representing Pakistan in the swimming competition, while former Myerscough College student Neil Cleverly will be in charge of the Olympic golf course in Rio, preparing the greens and fairways for some of the world’s top players.

Newcastle-under-Lyme College A Level student and volleyball player Florence Owen is also heading to Brazil as a volunteer.

Here are the past and present college students who will be competing in Rio:


Adam Peaty – Derby College (former)



Jazz Carlin – Gower College Swansea (former)

Molly Renshaw – Loughborough College

Jack Burnell  – Loughborough College

Siobhan-Marie O’Connor – Loughborough College (former)

Fran Halsall – Loughborough College (former)

Lianna Swan – Loughborough College (representing Pakistan)

Synchronised swimming

Katie Clark – Loughborough College


Daniel Goodfellow – Loughborough College


James Dasaolu – Loughborough College (former)

Chijindu Ujah – Sir George Monoux Sixth Form College (former)

Adam Gemili – Barking and Dagenham College (former)

Matthew Hudson-Smith – Loughborough College (former)

Mark Dry – Loughborough College (former)

Elliot Giles – Birmingham Metropolitan College (former)

Harry Aikines-Aryeetey – Loughborough College (former)

Robbie Grabarz – Loughborough College (former)

Richard Kilty – Loughborough College (former)

Martyn Rooney – Loughborough College (former)

Chris Baker – Loughborough College (former)

Lynsey Sharp – Loughborough College (former)

Ojie Edoburun – Oaklands College (former)

Daryll Neita – Oaklands College (former)

Holly Bradshaw – Runshaw College (former)

Sophie Hitchon – Loughborough College (former)


Nicola Adams – Hopwood Hall College (former)

Savannah Marshall – Hartlepool College

Canoe Slalom

Richard Hounslow – Harrow College (former)

Canoe Sprint

Rachel Cawthorn – Berkshire College of Agriculture

Angela Hannah – Loughborough College (former)


Steven Burke – Nelson and Colne College (former)

Ed Clancy – Kirklees College (former)


Carl Hester – Hartpury College (Equine Academy Coach)

Gymnastics (trampoline)

Kat Driscoll – MidKent College (former)


Nicola White – Loughborough College (former)

Henry Weir – Loughborough College (former)


Will Fletcher – New College Durham (former)

Zoe Lee – Queen Elizabeth Sixth Form College (former)

Rugby 7s

Olympic -7s -selection

Dan Norton – Hartpury College (former)

James Davies – Gower College Swansea (former)


Abbie Brown – Hartpury College (former)

Natasha Hunt – Hartpury College (former)

Heather Fisher – Warwickshire College and Bath College (former)

Megan Jones – Hartpury College and Loughborough College

Emily Scott – Seevic College (former)

Danielle Waterman – Head of AASE Academy at Hartpury College (former)

Amy Wilson-Hardy – Worthing College (former)


Rebekah Tiler – Calderdale College


Good luck to all involved from everyone at AoC Sport.