Students and staff recognised at AoC Sport Awards

The winners of the AoC Sport Awards 2018 were announced during the National Championships in Nottingham recently.

The AoC Sport awards are the chance for colleges from across the country to showcase and celebrate the achievements and inspirational work of students and staff in college sport.

The awards represent the very best approaches that colleges are adopting to ensure that every student is regularly participating in sport or physical activity.

Five categories were listed for this year’s awards:

  • Inspirational Student/Volunteer of the Year
  • Achievement in Disability Sport
  • Student Performer of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Hall of Fame awards

The nominees and winners for each category were:

Inspirational Student/Volunteer of the Year

Nominees: Liam Waugh (Gateshead College), Sophie Hibbert (North Lindsey College), Joshua Benocci (Hartpury College)

Winner: Duncan Covey ( Truro & Penwith College),

Duncan is a high achieving student and an all-round role model, volunteering much of his time to both AoC Sport and Truro & Penwith College. Duncan has continued to be part of the college academy, overcoming illness, and has supported with badminton coaching, remaining an integral part of the team.

Oliver Griffith-Salter – Achievement in Disability Sport award winner

Achievement in Disability Sport

Nominees: Robert Cliffe (Bradford College), Micheal Grover (Newham 6th Form College), Francis Kanu (Newham College)

Winner: Oliver Griffith-Salter (Coleg Sir Gar)

The award went to Oliver for his achievements in both playing and coaching wheelchair basketball. Oliver represents Great Britain and captains the Welsh wheelchair basketball team.

He is a dedicated member of the Coleg Sir Gar team as a sports and student ambassador and voluntary basketball coach.

Duncan Covey – Inspirational Student winner

Student Performer of the Year

Nominees: Joshua Bennett (Bexhill College), Emily Syme (Richard Huish College), Harriet Lambe (Bridgwater & Taunton College)

Winner: Emily Rossiter (Bridgwater & Taunton College)

Emily is a very high achieving netball athlete, representing her college, club and country. She is a great role model perfectly balancing her college work and her training schedule.

Team of the Year

Nominees: Netball (Holy Cross College), Birmingham Met women’s basketball (Birmingham Met College), Women’s volleyball (Newcastle-under-Lyme College)

Winner: Tennis (Peter Symonds)

The Peter Symonds College Tennis Team have been outstanding and consistent performers. They have developed a very strong team reputation having won all representation in the regional team last year and achieving gold at the AoC Sport National Championships last year. Again Peter Symonds are making up the majority of the South East Tennis Squad for 2018.

Hall of Fame

Mark Howard – Hall of Fame winner

Winner: Mark Howard (Walsall)

The Hall Of Fame Award is awarded to Mark  for his significant contribution and dedication to FE Sport. Mark is an active member of the West Midlands Region and has been heavily involved with AoC Sport for many years.

Mark is always volunteering free time to help drive the success of FE sport. In times of need Mark will always step in and help, he was involved in organising 4 different regional tournaments this year and plays an integral role in shaping the West Midlands leagues. Mark is a very valuable member of AoC Sport and plays an essential role in FE Sport.

Hall of Fame

Winner: Julie Penrase (Callywith College and Truro & Penwith College)

The Hall Of Fame award is awarded to Julie  for her exemplary service to college sport. Julie has been involved in AoC Sport for many years. She has taken on a number of roles within the South West region, from coaching the South West rugby squad, to chairing the South West Region and has been to more national championships supporting her college than she will probably care to remember.